What Will You Build?

Bio: Todd D. Vance, grew up in Moorefield, WV, math major in college but took a handful of programming classes, in C, Pascal, BASIC (remember that?), and Fortran, received doctorate in mathematics at University of Virginia. Immediately went to work in DC for the feds doing lots of things, but mostly computer programming. There I learned by reading and doing, Perl, Python, Java, and a middling amount of C++, just enough to modify existing code and learn it is a hodgepodge language trying to be too many things at once. Then one day, even though people say “don’t quit your day job!” (I’m an amateur musician as well; that’s what they always tell musicians), I quit my day job and returned to Moorefield, WV. The pay was great, but it’s less fun to do work for someone else’s glory.

Game Career: In high school, I used to make lousy BASIC games for the Commodore VIC20. During my paid career, at nights after work I’d do things like make Duke Nukem levels and hack their CON scripts so Duke could go bowling, etc. I played with Unreal Engine 4 when it came out, starting a couple months before it was made free (so, yeah, I paid a little). I would watch tutorial videos on a laptop at night in my hotel room after away conferences and when I returned home, try and not succeed much in doing stuff in Unreal and then decided to take the Unreal course. Unreal was still hard, even with the course—I could follow along, but I forgot how to do things very quickly. So, I also took the Unity course (an easier platform for beginners), and came back to Unreal, finally finished the course and started a First Person Shooter project (still in progress).