Unable to change the center of overall gameobject (Barry parent)

Hi folks. I am relatively new to game development. I am working on a game from Udemy course where I have a character named Barry. My Barry character comprises of two parts, the top and the bottom. The center of overall gameobject Barry is located somewhat near the bottom. Since, in my game I need Barry to rotate at its middle, so I need to move the center towards the middle. I tried selecting all the child gameobjects (top and bottom) and moving them, but the center of the overall gameobject Barry moves along with it and remains near the bottom only.
So, it would be great if someone could help me out with this.

Hi Aman,

Welcome back to our community. :slight_smile:

What you describe sounds correct. You cannot change the pivot point or the centre of a game object. However, what you could do is to move the children relative to the parent position. Barry rotates around the pivot point of the root game object.

Did this help?

See also:

Hello Nina, you misunderstood Aman’s question. I am having the same issue. He is describing that he did exactly what you are saying he needs to do, and saying it does not work. Your solution is for him to do exactly what he already did, which the video already told us to do. This is why there is an issue here.

Of course it has been a few days, so Aman, if you have found a solution, please do let me know. I would also appreciate knowing the solution.

1 Like

To elaborate, Nina, the task as you know is that what we have to do is move only the child objects, while the parent object stays in place. But the problem is that when we try, the parent moves too, and so it does not offset relative to the children, instead producing the exact same result.