Totally lost on Setup and Installation

Nothing seems to be what is shown in the course…from clicking on “Clone” in gitlab. I installed the SSH version of Visual Studio Code. That wasn’t covered in the tutorial video. There was an HTTPS version also (for Windows 10). So I had to guess which one to click.

I got as far as "Allow an extension to open this URI? And it opened Visual Studio Code v 1.58.2 but there was no prompt as to where to save the file. Nor does the opening screen in Visual Studio Code look anything like the one in the video. Mine opens showing actual code…nothing that says “Getting Started” or anything else shown on the video.

There is nothing that says to create a repository location. So this is where I am stuck.

I hope the rest of this course will not have me constantly hunting around and guessing and having to open and search discussions to figure out what is going on.

I am a total beginner and this will be too daunting if the rest of the videos are like this one.

Please update the material.

1 Like

Welcome @ mwsheeler!

Personally I downloaded the zip file of gitlab and used the unzip folder like my new workspace because I don’t know what I had missed but for me too the “Clone” function don’t seams to work properly.

Summary

After I had to follow these instructions on this page to complete installation of Raylib compiler

Summary

Unable to see Raylib compiler in list

Don’t worry only this step caused me problems after that everything was perfect and easily understandable
Hope it help!

1 Like

Thanx Philx

I did the manual download and unzip. then I renamed the main folder to GameDev. All the contents I made sure followed the video. Luckily the Raylib compiler thingy did show up so I hope you are right and things will follow a little better in the subsequent video lessons.

Can’t thank you enough for your reply. Really helped me.

1 Like

It was a pleasure! Let me know if there is something else.