Save system 'S' shortcut

Hi, I am not using your project and I am new to the save systems. How come save is ‘s’ button? ‘s’ button is for going down in my game, form me it would be cmd+s. Is there a possibility to make it work? I am using following scripts in my projects: ISaveable, SaveableEntity, SavingSystem, SerializableVector3 (actually this one I am not sure if I need). And so far everything in my project works except saving.

In what tutorial are you explaining save system? I really like your tutorials, you guys doing heroic job, but this is for the third time in this tutorial you just say: this already works from GameDevTV.Saving system. I think it would be good to mention: Please see this tutorial: ‘name of the tutorial’ for learning more.

‘S’ is for ‘(S)ave’ in the course, and ‘L’ for ‘(L)oad’. The course doesn’t use WASD to move, so it’s not a problem. You really just need to change which keys the SavingWrapper listens to. I never use the ‘s’ or ‘l’ they use in the course. I come from a long time ago when Police Quest used F5 and F6 (or at least that’s how my moldy brain remembers it).

Using key modifiers in Unity is a bit meh. We want to know if 2 keys are pressed in this frame but the likelihood of that being the case is pretty small because frames are so fast. The simplest is to check if the Ctrl key is down already when the ‘S’ key is down in this frame

// Check if the ctrl key is pressed - any frame (GetKey)
bool controlDown = Input.GetKey(KeyCode.LeftControl) || Input.GetKey(KeyCode.RightControl);
// Check if the control is down _and_ 'S' is pressed in _this frame_ (GetKeyDown)
if (controlDown && Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.S))
{
    // Save
}

Also, the course that covers the saving system is the `Unity RPG Core Combat Creator: Learn Intermediate C# Coding’. Here’s a link. Not sure if it will work right 'cos it’s my link and I’m enrolled