Course review for Unity Multiplayer: Intermediate C# Coding & Networking

Hello,

I would like to give my thoughts about the course now that I have finished it. I apologize in advance for my poor English (I read and understand it just fine, but lack practice writing it).

First I think it is a good course, with good insights how to organize the code, and the assets.

And the final result, the game, looks good to my eyes. It feel more like a game than a simple prototype. It is also build in a scalable way, with room for improvement like bot players, more units, etc, without having to change too many things.

But I also feel there are points of improvements. Not much about the game or the code, but much more about the “teaching style”, and the structuring of the course itself.

I am an experienced programmer (more in the web development), but I found this course pretty difficult to follow. Not because it is overwhelming complex, it is more about the …. overall flow ?
I did not have the same problem with the courses for Unreal, or for Unity RPG, by Sam Pattuzzi.

I also agreed the feedbacks here :

« My main criticism is around the lack of understanding of the architectural choices before typing the code. Designing and entity model how things communicate where information resides (server/client) and what does need to be communicated. »

For me, the most important thing that I wanted to learn in this course, is WHY should we build things this way or that way ? We learn HOW to do it, but not WHY.

Showing how something work is not the same as teaching about it.

And they are many videos where there is just too much things scrammed/rushed into one session. And sometimes things that are not related at all.

We build the beginning of the lobby in the video … « Selecting Multiple Units ». And then we do almost nothing about it for 50 % of the course, and we finish the lobby at the end.