Why is everything broken down into it's own script?

I just got up to the part of the video where we create a “Weapon Damage” script. I think it’s getting a bit ridiculous with how many scripts we are creating and was wondering what the reason for this was.
I am only a student but I would generally just have one “Weapon” script, instead of having one script for every aspect/function/component of the weapon.

1 Like

It’s good practice. Each component should have a single purpose. It allows for easy maintenance and extensibility.

Nothing stops you from putting all your code in a single Weapon script, but with time you will discover that it is actually better to have components that does one thing, and one thing only

1 Like

I have literally found the opposite to be true over time. I’m sick of looking for a script that I might have created or might not have, now I just put everything in one script. Like one “Movement”, it handles moving forward and moving back, etc.
I hate weeks down the line finding oh this character doesn’t have a “Move to the side” script on him. This is simplifying it. But I don’t see how it makes for easier maintenance and extensibility to have everything broken down all over the place like this.
This isn’t even going into having to manage all the namespaces in a project.

Yeah, that’s a little overkill. Movement.cs is one thing. MoveLeft.cs, MoveRight.cs is insane and I have never seen anyone do that.

The instructors are trying to teach the best way to do something. If you don’t want to do it that way, you don’t have to. In programming, there are many ways to do the same thing. You do you, man

1 Like

Well yeah. Idk why you are stating the obvious. I’m just trying to understand why you would do it this way. Or why this is “the best way”. Telling me something is just “the best way” or “It allows for easy maintenance and extensibility” without explaining how ain’t really answering my question/helping me out.