What will I build: Strand Game

Ultimately, I’m interested in building a strand game. Strand games weren’t included in the multiplayer category slide!

Strand is a genre coined by Kojima himself and named after Death Stranding. It is characterized by a potentially large number of users only interacting with one another indirectly. Dark Souls and Animal Crossing are strand games too. A player may never actually see another player, but by interacting with the environment, they can impact each other’s experience. I’m interested in more or less single player experiences, but I believe this level of multiplayer can add substantial depth to a game.

I’ve been developing in Unity for several years, but since about a year ago, I’ve switched to UE4. I’m currently working on more core features for my game than networking so I’m likely to toy around with other multiplayer genres before I get to multiplayer in my main project.

Happy to join GameDev.tv.

1 Like

Thanks for sharing. I’d never heard of Strand games but it does make sense.

How are you finding transitioning to Unreal from Unity? I personally found it trickier to use but more professional in its appearance and general output quality.

I hope you enjoy the course and Welcome to GameDev.tv

2 Likes

I felt like people around me thought I was crazy for switching platforms to start a new project. I already knew one, why kill a lot of time learning another? I had reasoned through the decision, but to be honest, I did not know just how good of a choice UE4 was at at the time.