What type of object is "Level"

If I want to cache my FindObjectOfType() in the Start method, what kind of object is it?

And our object in the scene is named “Level” and the script on that object is also named “Level”, how does it know to find the script (which it is obviously(?) doing because we can call LoadGameOver directly) instead of the object?

1 Like

I am not an expert, but I will try to answer your question.

First: you can try to Serialize Field (where we usually serialize fields in Player.cs) and in Die() method call LoadGameOver() like this:

[SerializeField] GameObject level;
//..........................

private void Die()
    {
        level.GetComponent<Level>().LoadGameOver();
        // .........................
    }

I tried this on my own, it works correctly. I don’t know is it better or worse than the approach shown to us in Lection 113.

Second.

The Level.cs is a script.

What is the class exactly? As I read on Wikipedia:

a class is an abstract data type, it is a template for creating objects that provide initial values for states: initializing variable fields and implementing the behaviour of functions or methods. Other abstract data types - metaclasses, interfaces, structures, enumerations - are characterized by some of their own, other features.

So, when you ask “what kind of object is it” - I answer:

1. Class is a data type
  2. Level is a class what has it’s own type: Level

Any class is a data type, and any class have its own name, therefore any class name is the type of this class.

So, your type of object is a type of class. It is “Level”.

For the Unity and C# compiler, I guess, it looks like this:
Script Name = Level (like in a solution explorer we have Level.cs)
Name of the Game Object on the Scene = Level
Class Name = Level
Class Name = Type Name => Type Name = Level