Unityengine.ui vs code

Hello, I’ve searched for an answer, but everyone seems to be using vs 2019. I’m using VS Code, which I was recommended by the “Unity Game Development Build 2d, 3d Games” course since vs 2019 is very heavy and takes a lot of time to run. Currently I’m taking the “Complete C# Unity Game Developer Course” and I’ve gotten to the moment where I need to add ’ using UnityEngine.UI; ’ and ’ Text textComponents; ’ to my code. However, it says that the namespace UnityEngine.UI doesn’t exist. I was hoping for a solution that was compatible with VS Code instead of 2019, hopefully in terms I an understand since I am only beginning.

Hi Amber,

Welcome to our community! :slight_smile:

Please follow the instruction on this website. Maybe Is Visual Studio Code was not selected as your External Script Editor in Unity (Edit > Preferences > External Tools). Or the Unity Tools extension is missing. Or something else is the case.

VSC should definitely be compatible with Unity 2019. Or are you using an older version of Unity? If so, which one?

Hello, I just restarted, and went through the instructions and seem to have done these steps already. I’m currently using 2019.3.4f1 . I’ve looked online for my problem, and it seems to be a common bug that has gone back years. But everyone seems to have different solutions, that aren’t reproducable, in a sense that it was their own issue and not another’s. Also, I don’t entirely understand the coding language, or file names, etc, when reading the solutions either.

Could you share a screenshot of your code in Visual Studio code? (As an exception! I usually prefer formatted text.)

Maybe I will be able to spot an issue.

Is the latest .NET Framework installed on your computer?

using System;

using System.Collections;

using System.Collections.Generic;

using UnityEngine;

using UnityEngine.UI;

public class AdventureGame : MonoBehaviour

{

[SerializeField] Text textComponent;

[SerializeField] State startingState;