Unity vs Unreal

This is a big topic, and I’ve made it a wiki so we can distill ideas into the top of the topic.

I’ll get us started on Unity vs. Unreal

By Platform

• Unity for mobile games (2D and 3D)
  • Unity for 2D and 2.5D console and PC games
  • Unreal for 3D console and 3D games (especially FPSs)
  • Either for VR, they both have good support

By Experience Level

• Unity for complete beginners
  • Unreal C++ to improve your skills, but…
  • Unreal using Blueprint make it super accessible

By Language

• Unity uses C# [formerly: UnityScript (JavaScript)]
  • Unreal uses C++ OR Blueprint visual programming

By Game Genre

• Unreal for FPS, it’s its heritage

By Team Collaboration

• Unity and Unreal both support bringing your own version control to the project, as demonstrated in Ben’s courses.
  • Unity provides paid deep integration with their own hosted collaboration service.
  • Unreal provides free deep integration with Perforce, with your choice of host.

By Official Educational Material

• Unity produces video tutorials that tend to release alongside UNITE conferences.
  • Unity offers paid certification courses.
  • Unreal provides video tutorials as well as a community wiki.
  • Unreal provides live weekly learning on Twitch every Tuesday. Including answering questions from the chat.

By Community Events

• Unity holds a number of UNITE conferences each year.
  • Unreal holds monthly game jam’s with prizes for both winners and participants.

By VR Support

• Both support the HTC Vive and Oculus Rift
  • Both allow in editor use of VR to build your game.
  • Unreal games released on the Oculus Store will owe no royalties for the first 5 million USD. Oculus will pay your royalties for you up to that point.

By Licensing Model

• Unity is free for the first $100,000 USD revenue with restrictions on some parts of the editor.
  • Unity is $35 USD per person per month when revenue is between $100,001 USD and $200,000 with a few restrictions removed.