Unity Multiplayer: Intermediate C# Coding & Networking code review

Howdy!

I’ve been really enjoying the “Unity Multiplayer” course so far. I think the way you present networking concepts is excellent, and I think the choice of Mirror was a fantastic one. But I feel like I should give some feedback.

My background: I’ve been a professional software engineer over a decade, and I have one of those expensive pieces of toilet paper called a degree in Computer Science as well.

I feel like the Unity Mulitplayer coures’ architecture could use another pass. Please take this criticism as it is meant: As some friendly advice! :slight_smile: Also, in the end, I understand that this whole project is a means to an end ( we are learning the basics of Unity and Network programming, not launching a commercial game, after all ) and obsessing about the architecture of this project is probably overkill. I just hope my code review here is educational for some readers!

My concern started when in the first part of the lecture series when we named a bunch of modules “MyNetworkManager” and “MyNetworkPlayer”. These names are obviously bad, adding the word “My” to these names adds no additional information. Names are important! We want them to be descriptive! No big deal. This is a small section and we quickly moved on. However, we repeat the pattern with “myUnits” in the RTSPlayer class. Having good hygiene with our naming is really low hanging fruit and not something we should blaze past in the moment.

More concerning is the road we are going down on the RTS game. Mainly, I feel like our classes are a bit bulky and are doing too much. Additionally, To follow along at home I am reviewing this code: https://gitlab.com/GameDevTV/UnityMultiplayer/RealTimeStrategy/-/tree/bab714ef532352c38d16f24af2ce2d00dc34634d/Assets/Scripts/Units