Stuttering Camera

I’ve never used Cinemachine before, so it was nice to have a new tool in the box.

One of the things I have noticed with both my own implementation of a follow camera and the Cinemachine camera is that there seems to be some kind of camera stutter while the camera chases after the player (small but jarring), particularly as the environment gets larger. I’m not quite sure why this happens?

No idea what Cinemachine is.

It’s a package that was introduced in the 3D Introduction to Unity Course:

Basically, as far as my understanding goes (before really reading through the documents), it allows you to create a virtual camera (brain) within the scene to manage one or multiple existing cameras based on built in functions (i.e., whether you want to switch cameras the game scene is viewed through / have certain cameras remain stationary).

I think the issue is something more fundamental though, given stuttering occurs on my own camera implementation as well. Thinking about it afterwards I am wondering if it might have something to do with the fact that the player object I am following is moved with forces - and thus rotates - so the camera follow ends up getting influenced subtly by that?

Ah! You posted in the Blender section. Which in large part explains the lack of awareness. :rofl:

My bad. I thought I was putting the reply off the video, but I must have fiddled with something somewhere. I’m not sure if there’s a way to move this, but I’m not really to concerned if the question gets closed - I can probably figure something out over time.

1 Like

Moved it for you. Someone more likely to see it that knows something about it now.

1 Like

Hi,

Try to have the cinemachine brain be updated in Late Update. And you could also try to set the “Interpolate” value in the Rigidbody component of the player game object to “Interpolate”.

https://forum.unity.com/threads/stuttering-with-rigidbody-cinemachine.1141687/#post-7334470