Simple Random Enemy Roam

I am trying to add a simple Roam Action where the unit will move a few spaces in a random direction. It sounds fairly simple but im very new to coding. Awesome course by the way!

That’s a tricky one, since our AI setup returns the “best” location for each available action, rather than a collection of actions. The key is going to be somewhere in the MovementAction, perhaps selecting a random spot from the top three locations…
Unfortunately, I’m out of time for the evening, but I’ll see what I can come up with tomorrow or likely Wednesday.

1 Like

I wasn’t sure on how to get the top three locations on the MovementAction but after a lot of experimenting i found an unorthadox solution.

(EnemyAI Script)

if (bestEnemyAIAction != null && enemyUnit.TrySpendActionPointsToTakeAction(bestBaseAction))
        {
            if (enemyUnit.alerted)
            {
                //Take Best Action
                bestBaseAction.TakeAction(bestEnemyAIAction.gridPosition, onEnemyAIActionComplete);
            }

else
            {
                //Random Roam
                bestBaseAction.TakeAction(enemyUnit.GetRandomGridPos(), onEnemyAIActionComplete);
            }

return true;
        }
        else
        {
            return false;
        }

(Unit Script)

public GridPosition GetRandomGridPos()
    {
        //Randomizes a position of an object that checks for any colliders (obstacles, units)
        _RandomRoamCheck.CheckForObjectsInRoamPosition(); 

//Adds the value of the collider objects x and z values to the units current grid position
        rndGridPosition.x = gridPosition.x += _RandomRoamCheck.rndX;
        rndGridPosition.z = gridPosition.z += _RandomRoamCheck.rndZ;

return rndGridPosition;
    }

(RandomRoamCheck Script)

public class RandomRoamCheck : MonoBehaviour
{
    [SerializeField] private Unit unit;
    [SerializeField] private LayerMask collidableLayers;