Section 1: Lecture 7: Using Action Events Instead of FindGameObjectWithTag?

Would having the HealthUI and GunUI subscribing to a Player ActionEvent be more along the Law of Demeter design guidelines as it would create a loose coupling between the Player gameObject and the UI objects?

Like how it would function in my mind is the Player would have call the ActionEvent after it calls take damage or fire gun which would call the RedrawUI methods on the GunUI and HealthUI. There’s probably a way to make the ActionEvent more generic as well but I am still learning and this is just off the top of my head, but is this inline with what we are aiming to get at with the Law of Demeter?

I would say you’ve got the general idea, but I’ll nitpick the specifics…
The Single Responsibility Principle says that one class is responsible for one thing… so in this case, the Player shoudn’t be responsible for either the state of the Health or the Gun. You would have a Health component that tracks health, and a Gun class that tracks the current ammo. Therefore, I would have the HealthUI subscribing to a HealthChanged event in Health, and the GunUI subscribing to an OnFired event in the Gun. This is in keeping with a component only knowing what it needs for the job. Were you to have an event in the player that covered both of these things, you would have unneccesary calls to HealthUI or GunUI

1 Like

Okay thanks for the clarification, but what is the purpose of the Player Class in the example? Reading player inputs or a placeholder tag like how combat target was for a bit in the RPG course? Cause from the example I think we probably wouldn’t need a Player Class like the one defined in the example just probably a GameObject after we refactor the Health into it’s own class and implement ActionEvents.