My goal: a multiplayer game focused on friendship!

Hello! I graduated this summer from an university degree where I learned all the basics of game dev but I feel that it wasn’t complete because I didn’t do any multiplayer game and I don’t even know where to begin make one!

I love playing with my friends to games like “Overcooked” or “It takes two” and I will love to create something like that! Those are local multiplayer games and, although they are great when you could be with your friends, I would love to make my online version to play with them now that I can’t see them so often anymore.

I think that I’m going to have some difficulties understanding code because I mostly used Blueprints to make my games on Unreal and I’m not used to C++, but I’m eager to learn and practice!

1 Like

C++ as a language isn’t hard. Using it with Unreal is tricky mainly because the engine documentation is poor. There’s plenty of resources out there to help. We normally recommend the C++ course first so if you have time, it is worth running through that course.

It sure looks this way. Plus, another caveat about C++ to be aware of is that it is a million different dialects, fairly different in each project. Every C++ project chooses what subset of the language and its standard-libraries is acceptable to it, everything else becoming a not-on-here. And so indeed then Unreal has its own “the C++ of UE”, although that is somewhat spelled out in the docs in its own document.

Just a heads-up when attempting to study from other non-UE C++ codebases here or there =)

This isn’t quite true. C++ in unreal engine adheres to ansi standards as does visual studio and gcc. The current release is v23. I think unreal uses C++ 20 and certainly can use language features in that version. I suspect what you’re referring to is the libraries and support can vary but generally, most compilers these days support the Standard Template Library for the given language version.