Improving The Jump in 3rd Person Controller Course

I recently finished the 3rd Person Controller course, and loved the ground work it laid out. I want to improve upon it a bit more, and one of my bigger issues is how the jump works, it doesn’t feel as floaty, and controlled as jumping in some other games, both classic and current, so I was wondering if I could have some help on improving it.

Some goals:
-Having a falling state, and landing state.
-Having it feel more controlled, so you can pull your jumps midair
-giving it a weightier feel.
-Working better if you get stuck on a ledge.
-Basically making it closer to how Unity sets up their 3rd Person Controller Standard Asset. Cause that one’s jumping is pretty fun, and gets the job done.

I am still learning however, and working with the StateMachine feels limiting, when trying to find other “Player Jumping” tutorials online since we did things in a specific way.

so if anyone has any advice or insight, I’d love to get a discussion started, and of course have this here for future students of this course to refer to as well!

Thanks!

I’ve taken the liberty of editing the categories to put this in the 3rd Person Combat and Traversal course, and since I think this might stretch beyond one question into a discussion I converted it into a Talk topic (so our system doesn’t go and close it on us).