Implementing "DontDestroyObjectOnLoad" preventing blocks from being destroyed?

Hello, folks. I’m pretty new to all of this, but I’m trying my best :slight_smile:

During the lecture at the point where we first input the following:

private void Awake()
   {
       int gameStatusCount = FindObjectsOfType<GameStatus>().Length;
       if (gameStatusCount > 1)
       {
           Destroy(gameObject);
       }
       else
       {
           DontDestroyOnLoad(gameObject);
       }
   }

…I immediately ran into a bug where instead of seeing the “DontDestroyOnLoad” in the hierarchy I get an error stating _NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object

Block.DestroyBlock () (at Assets/Scripts/Block.cs:25)
Block.OnCollisionEnter2D (UnityEngine.Collision2D collision) (at Assets/Scripts/Block.cs:20)

_

I have gone back through both my Block.cs and my GameStatus.cs and have played with the order of some things but to no avail. Here are the script as they stand:

Block.cs

using System.Collections;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using UnityEngine;

public class Block : MonoBehaviour {

[SerializeField] AudioClip breakSound;

//cached reference
Level level;

private void Start()
{
    level = FindObjectOfType<Level>();
    level.CountBreakableBlocks();
}

private void OnCollisionEnter2D(Collision2D collision)
{
    DestroyBlock();
}

private void DestroyBlock()
{
    FindObjectOfType<GameStatus>().AddToScore();
    AudioSource.PlayClipAtPoint(breakSound, Camera.main.transform.position);
    Destroy(gameObject);
    level.BlockDestroyed();
}

}

GameStatus.cs

using System.Collections;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using UnityEngine;
using TMPro;

public class GameStatus : MonoBehaviour {

//config params
[Range(0.1f, 3f)] [SerializeField] float gameSpeed = 1f;
[SerializeField] int pointsPBD = 10; // PBD = Per Block Destroyed
[SerializeField] TextMeshProUGUI scoreText;

// state vars
[SerializeField] int currentScore = 0;