I understand the Methods BUT

Methods makes the code more readable but what if you need to go in and change something in the method. For instance, I would like to add another sound so the thrusters make a different sound than the main engine. I have the audio file I made just for that but now I am not sure where and how to implement a second audio source.
It is problem a simple thing but I am new to coding or at least have been away from any kind of coding since the days Basic was the language everyone used. (I guess that dates me!)

I assume it would start something like this:

[SerializeField] AudicClip thrusters;

// then somewhere farther down in the code where the thrusters are engaged in //ProcessRotation:

StartPlaying(thrusters);

// but I don’t know where for sure because it is all hidden in the StartThrusting(); method we made.

Hi Richard,

I would say: Write your code and test it. Then you will see (or hear) if it works. In most cases, the compiler will tell you if you made a mistake. And if something does not work as expected and you cannot spot the issue, you could use a Debug.Log to analyse the problem.

We create methods to organise our code. Whether you put everything into one method or treat your thruster audio as a new task, is up to you. The computer does not care but future-you will be glad if your code is readable for humans.

A little hint: The Update method gets called each frame. If you want to process user input, you do it there. In the Update method, you could call other methods.

Good luck! :slight_smile:

See also:

Thanks, I will give your suggestion a try. I appreciate the hints! :slight_smile:

Well, I did solve the problem of adding thruster sounds. It is not very eloquent but it gets the job done. I don’t like the sound I made and I hope I can just swap out the sound file for a different named exactly the same.

Here is the solution that I came up with:

using System.Collections;

using System.Collections.Generic;