Higher tiered coding?

if this is a beginner course, why are we learning stuff that 3+ year people are doing? example:

direction.x < 0.f ? rightLeft = -1.f : rightLeft = 1.f;

as a beginner i feel it would have been easier for us to use/remember if it was left as the if else statement. it seems like some of this stuff is getting complicated for no reason. or maybe im just too dumb to get it…idk. all i can say is good thing his tests arent graded. cause ive been failing a lot of them recently. stephens a good teacher, but it just feels like hes dabbing into intermediate or pro level styles of coding.

I don’t know if I’d exactly call this intermediate or pro, but it’s important to know what the ternary operator is. Especially when looking at other peoples code. The ternary operator is a shorthand form for an if-else statement.

In this case, direction.x < 0.f ? rightLeft = -1.f : rightLeft = 1.f; Is the equivalent of doing this with an if-else statements.

if (direction.x < 0.f)
{
    rightLeft = -1.f;
}
else
{
    rightLeft = 1.f;
}

I think I’m going to have to defend the instructors here. I’ve never taken a C++ course, but I have taken courses in C, Java, and JavaScript before. In each of them, the ternary operator were taught fairly early on. Typically, they are taught immediately after if and else are taught, and before loops are taught.

You don’t have to use them but they are good to know about in case you encounter them in other code. Programming languages can often express the same in multiple ways. Also, sometimes things can be subtlety different, and the ternary operator is actually one of those cases.

I’m going to share an additional thing about the ternary operator that wasn’t covered in the course, and I hope that this might be something that is helpful and that you can learn from (and not just cause further confusion).