First Block Model

I am more used to doing courses in Udemy and am not sure if it is correct to post here. Anyway, here is my first Block Model. I am very new to game engines like Unity. I have dabbled with Godot and have a course started in it but found it very confusing. I am hoping I will understand game development better here.

I did notice a difference in my screen layout of Unity 2017.1.1 on my screen and the one in the lecture. I wondered why the lecture shows the Assets pane with the Prefabs listed before the Scene and on my screen the Prefabs are listed after the scene. I cannot grab and change their positions in the Assets panel.

Here is my Scene for this lecture.

1 Like

Hi Richard,

Your scene looks fine to me. Which version of Unity do you use? Unity 2017 is already old, and Unity changed a few things. However, their tools have become way more easy to use. If something does not look exactly as seen in the video, try this approach: “How would I make this happen?” Then try to do it that way. I am sure that you’ll be able to make things work yourself.

And if you get stuck or have questions and cannot find any solution or answer, please feel free to ask here in the Q&A section. :slight_smile:

In your screenshot, it looks as if no game object was selected. I can see that because no object is selected in the Hierarchy, and the Inspector is empty. Select an object, then you will be able to move that object with this tool:

Did this help? :slight_smile:

See also:

I am using the same Unity version as is in the video. I did solve my question on order of things in the Asset window. My scene was named differently than what was in the course consequently, the order of things listed was different (alphabetical?).