First Attempt at an RPG

Hello,

I am still fairly new to UE4 and C++, have only been programming for 5 months when I started the Unreal Engine course offered by the GameDev team. As I have posted a couple of times, I have been working on an RPG in UE4 and have prototyped many of the systems now, minus NPC interactions (although most of the groundwork is there) and combat. Any suggestions or pointers would be most welcome as well as questions on how my systems are set up. Also, for some reason my music stops playing when I begin to interact with my objects. Thanks!

Luta

3 Likes

Good stuff, thanks for sharing.

1 Like

Cool, good luck with the project.
My one tip: maybe add something like a small dot in the center of the screen to make it easier to point towards an item when picking it up. Nice work! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thanks!

I will definitely look into that, I do agree it is a little hard to know when you are going to hit an item from the line trace. Thanks!

Current State:

I have a working 3 hit combo that can get the skeletons and deal damage as well as use a power attack on the third attack of the combo which deals extra damage in exchange for Stamina. Next up, I need to change my Heal Regeneration, Mana Regeneration, and Stamina Regeneration from using Tick to using Timers (I am really bad at timers lol). Currently they regenerate way too fast using Tick.

1 Like

Current State: I have a working Melee based AI that attacks, dies, and follows the player.

1 Like

Just realized I never posted my goal lol. My goal is to have a working prototype ready my the end of this month with a quest to kill the skeleton lord. Then, over the next two months, I plan on scoring all of the music and submitting this for my PHD application in music composition. That’s my Finish it goal.

1 Like

Thanks for sharing with us. Its good to see how the game is coming along.

1 Like