Curly braces needed

I didn’t know this in C#. Without curly braces my code would count into minus figures and break. One way was to add braces and it worked okay.

if (isAnswering)
            if (time <= 0) { time = timeForAnswer; isAnswering = false; Debug.Log("Asking..."); }
        else
            if (time <= 0) { time = timeToAnswer; isAnswering = true; Debug.Log("Show answer..."); }

C++ will work if the code looked like this.

Any way C++ would not work this way?

It’s because of the nestedness of the if’s. The code you posted actually look like this (braces and expanded to show the actual code)

if (isAnswering)
{
    if (time <= 0)
    {
        time = timeForAnswer;
        isAnswering = false;
        Debug.Log("Asking...");
    }
    else if (time <= 0)
    {
        time = timeToAnswer;
        isAnswering = true;
        Debug.Log("Show answer...");
    }
}

and tbh, I don’t think it would work differently in C++. But I’m no expert.

The rule to remember is “else goes with the closest if” unless braces cause it to be otherwise. The indentation of the code in the OP obscures that fact. yep, it’s bitten me before too (in C, which I programmed before I knew about C++ or C#).

1 Like

Good advice. The C++ code (I lied) was more like this:

if(a==0)
    if(b==1) { a=2; b=3; std::cout << "changed"; }

so I forgot to add the else clause. I tested and yup, I will remember, “else goes with closet if”.

I do know that Python works with indentation. If anyone knows Python, would my OP work as expected?

Yes, python would be different (colons) but I believe the structure would work

if isAnswering:
    if time <= 0:
        time = timeForAnswer
        isAnswering = False
        print("Asking...")
else:
    if time <= 0:
        time = timeToAnswer
        isAnswering = True
        print("Show answer...")

This is because Python is a functional programming language and relies on indenting to determine where statements belong.