Confusion about AudioSource and caching?

Hi Everyone,

It seems AudioClip and AudioSource are types of variable. However, shouldn’t variables begin with a lowercase letter (camel casing)?

For example, why not:

[SerializeField] int number;
[SerializeField] audioClip audioClip

audioSource audioSource

I am new to coding - is there something I have not understood here?

I also don’t understand why AudioSource has to be declared at the start of the script in order to use the PlayOneShot method later. The correct script is this:

audioSource.PlayOneShot(audioClip);

However, why is this wrong:

AudioSource.PlayOneShot(audioClip);

I understand that PlayOneShot is a method, and that we need to define the variable ‘AudioClip’ as audioClip for it to know what to play.

However, why is the ‘AudioSource’ part necessary? I thought that AudioSource might be a class, and we are calling the PlayOneShot method defined within that AudioSource class, but then it does not make sense that AudioSource would be used as a variable.

Thanks!

Hi Killerbanana,

Welcome to our community! :slight_smile:

It seems AudioClip and AudioSource are types of variable.

Yes, they are types.

However, shouldn’t variables begin with a lowercase letter (camel casing)?

Yes, the names of variables usually start with a minuscule letter. However, that’s just a naming convention. If you introduced a name, you have to use that name “as it is” because C# is case-sensitive.

[SerializeField] audioClip audioClip is invalid because AudioClip is the type, and it is spelt AudioClip, not audioClip. The variable name audioClip is fine because it is something that you introduce here. The AudioClip type/class already exists.

AudioSource.PlayOneShot(audioClip); would mean that you call this method on the class. The method requires an instance/object, though. For this reason, you need a variable. For example:

AudioSource abc = GetComponent<AudioSource>();
abc.PlayOneShot(audioClip);