Click to Attack

So I’d much rather have the player REQUIRED to click to attack rather than to hold down the attack button. Ideally, there’d be some sort of grace period that allows you to keep your combo up if you attack again within that timeframe.

When I was last messing with this course I started playing with this and couldn’t quite get it. I did poke around a bit to see if I could find an official @Brian_Trotter solution, but I am not finding one. I would think I am not the first person to ask.

I can’t decide where to start. I would think we’d still want a bool trigger and have it set to false after the “grace period.” I imagine that this could be a low amount of time because ideally we’d still be able to cancel the animation of the previous attack towards the end of it then just a smidge more time after an attack animation completes to get the next attack off or it resets like it would now if you let up on the attack.

Any help is appreciated… Otherwise I will be working on it down the line. The reason I have come back to this course is that I’ve tried like 4 premade character controllers out there and hated them all. I liked the basics of this one and had stopped taking the course around 70% through. I realized for my action RPG project that this is a great starting point. I can’t wait to share what I am doing! In fact, here is a look of the aesthetics so far. I’ve actually done really well converting mixamo to work with the Infinity PBR animations on Synty models:

2 Likes

So the best way to handle this is through an event…

In InputManager, add and event like this:

public event System.Action AttackDown;

And in the OnAttack method, add

AttackDown?.Invoke();

to the if(context.performed) block.

Then in PlayerAttackState, make sure you subscribe to the stateMachine.InputReader.OnAttack() in Enter and unsubscribe from it in Exit