About public abstract class State

Hi
State is a public abstract class and by definition an abstract class cannot be used to create objects (you cannot create an instance of it using the new keyword) and to access it it must be inherited from another class.
Then we create a public class StateMachine : MonoBehaviour
Inside StateMachine we create a private State currentState variable and use it to access the Tick() method inside the abstract class State.

As much as I know private State currentState is not an instance of State because instances are created using the new keyword and in case of abstract classes this is not even allowed.
And StateMachine does not inherit from State either.

So how can you access Tick() just by declaring a State currentState variable inside StateMachine?

Thank you

Hey @Guybrush, I’m no expert here but the way I understood it was this
Here is a definition of what an Abstract class is

An abstract class is a class that has been declared abstract and has the option to include abstract methods. They cannot be instantiated, but they can be used as subclasses.

In StateMachine.cs we have this

public abstract class StateMachine : MonoBehaviour
{
    public void SwitchState(State newState)
    {
        _currenState?.Exit();
        _currenState = newState;
        _currenState?.Enter();
    }
    private State _currenState;
    private void Update()
    {
        _currenState?.Tick(Time.deltaTime);
    }
}

The public method SwitchState takes an argument of type “State”. Or something that is a subclass of state. If you look at PlayerBaseState - it’s a subclass of “State”. Then all our other PlayerSates (FreeLook/Targeting/Attacking/etc) are inheriting from PlayerBaseState

public abstract class PlayerBaseState : State

public class PlayerFreeLookState : PlayerBaseState

public class PlayerDeadState : PlayerBaseState

public class PlayerTargetingState : PlayerBaseState