WOW.... my first ever game

Thank u so much… I am a noob to coding. Professionally, I am a physics teacher and an ardent gamer…
Plz try to finish the first stage of my “Tank o Fury” version of Laser Defendor
https://gamebucket.io/game/a35a3d08-eaaa-4852-bd5e-7c2f1251082e

1 Like

Hi,

Well done Anshul, nice to see something different come from a laser defender concept.

I haven’t been able to complete the first stage, seems a bit too difficult, unless I’m missing something?

A little bit of feedback for you;

• The “Controls” information is only provided within the “Practice” scene, if a player doesn’t use “Practice” (as I didn’t :roll_eyes: you don’t find out about reload (this was the something I was missing!)
  • Once you move from the main screen into “Start”, when you die, whilst you can “Retry”, you cannot get back to the main menu, the same is true of the “Practice” scene, this leaves the player thinking they are stuck in that mode.
  • You can turn the tank all the way around if you hold down the A or D keys, it would benefit perhaps from constraints, maybe 45 degrees for example in either direction;
  • The right arrow key to shoot felt a little counter-intuitive, my thumb was already resting on the space bad etc
  • The ability to reload made the game significantly easier, but there doesn’t appear to be any cost to reload, e.g. there is no reason to not just be wasteful with your ammo and keep reloading
  • The shells the player fires don’t quite reach the far right of the screen, they just disappear, this gives you the ability to stop, take aim, but then cause no damage, despite the shells exploding over an enemy. On this note, the soliders are able to still fire and hit the player at the same distance!

The above are just a few things I spotted whilst playing your game, I like the imagery you have used, the background, the sprites and the sound effects fit well. Some ideas for further enhancements;