Why not try Rider as IDE?

I’ve actually tried Rider as a C++ IDE for Unreal and I will probably never go back. Refactoring has so much options snf id context aware, intellisense just works and is so much faster, GIT integration just works and actually shows commits and history that you can review side by side.

2 Likes

My guess would be because Rider isn’t free. I’m not sure if Rider for Unreal Engine is going to have a community edition, it isn’t even cross-platform and in pre-release at this stage. It’s an awesome IDE, as are all of the JetBrains products.

Good point. It’s Public Preview right now. However joining the preview and testing it is free for the time beeing.

@marozet - Nice to see another user of Rider for Unreal Engine (R4UE <- my acronym). I’ve started using R4UE as well about a week ago.

• I’m new to coding but have experimented with both VS Code and (R4UE). I’m sticking with R4UE at this point.

• For now R4UE is free, albeit not cross-platform. It is also very easy to install and add as your Source Editor. The process is the same as any other in the Unreal Editor.

• Intellisense just works with R4UE. I can’t say that for VS Code in my experiences specifically with the GameDev.tv/Udemy Unreal Course.

—Removed my wordy version. Unnecessary.

1 Like

I’ve been using IDEA professionally for years and I use Rider with Unity. When R4UE came out, it was a natural thing for me to pick up. In my opinion, the product is worth its cost. And I tend to believe that a carpenter should own his/her own tools, so I’ve maintained my yearly “Ultimate” license to take advantage of all their products. Yes, I freely admit I’m a fanboy of JetBrains.

1 Like

I think it has already been said. I would love to use Rider but lack of free and Mac version means we will be sticking to VSCode onscreen for now.