Why aren't my blocks being counted in the Level game object?

Hello Rick,

I’m really enjoying the course so far, but I’ve gotten stuck on the ‘count breakable blocks’ part. I’m completely new to coding so I probably made an error at some point, but I’ve checked my code several times and it’s the exact same as in the video. When I press play in Unity, my blocks aren’t being counted in the Level game object. The Breakable Blocks section is there under the Level script component but just remains at zero. Any suggestions for where I might have gone wrong?

Thanks,
Rachel

Hi Rachel,

From memory, the Level script has a method named CountBlocks;

public void CountBlocks()
{
    breakableBlocks++;
}

This was being called from the Block script, in a method named CountBreakableBlocks, called from the Start method (may vary depending where you are in the course);

private void CountBreakableBlocks()
{
	level = FindObjectOfType<Level>();

if (gameObject.tag == "Breakable")
	{
		level.CountBlocks();
	}
}

This process relies on a few things, firstly, the Block GameObjects require the Breakable tag to have been assigned in the Inspector, either individually, or, with multi-select, or by amending the prefab.

There is also the reliance of having a Level GameObject in the scene, as you can see from the CountBreakableBlocks method, it attempts to find it, although it if doesn’t you would expect to see a NullReferenceException error when level.CountBlocks() is called.

To diagnose the issue you are experiencing I would try the following;

• check that the scene has a Level GameObject with the Level.cs script component attached
  • check that all of the breakable blocks in the scene have the Breakable tag set
  • check that you are calling the CountBreakableBlocks method from the Start method within Block.cs

If you are certain all of these steps have been taken, try amending the CountBreakableBlocks method within Block.cs as follows;

private void CountBreakableBlocks()
{