What order should I do the courses in?

I’m confused about the order of the courses. I originally purchased the 3D course and the RPG course. I liked the 3D course so much that I bought the 2D and Blender about a week or so later before even finishing the 3D course, which I just finished up last night. It looks though, like the 2D course also gets into 3D and the RPG is tagged as intermediate. Should I have started with the 2D course? I think that is the one I will do next, then RPG. Blender will be last if at all. I’m more interested in the coding and I’ve made peace with the fact that I’m not an artist.

Hi Rhine,

Don’t worry. You did everything right. Both the Unity 2D and the 3D course cover the fundamentals of C#, programming and Unity. It does not matter where you start.

If you already completed the 3D course, ignore the 3D projects in the 2D course unless you are really interested in them. The 3D projects in the 2D course are very old and have a lot of flaws which will not get fixed anymore. Only the 2D courses have been updated recently.

Are you interested in 2D games? If so, proceed with the 2D course. You will recognise a lot what you already learned in the 3D course but you’ll also learn a few new techniques, and 2D elements, of course.

If you are not interested in the 2D project and if you want to dive a bit deeper into C# before starting with the RPG course, you could spend a couple of hours with this free C# course by Bob Tabor. I’m mentioning it because Microsoft is about to retire their courses soon.

Do you want to focus on 3D only and do you feel familiar with Unity and C#? If so, proceed with the RPG course. If you feel that the course is a bit too difficult, you can always pause it, proceed with the 2D course and come back to the RPG course at a later juncture.

This is my personal recommendation. There is not “the one way you must follow to succeed, or you will fail”. Do what you like. :slight_smile: