What a great overview of some good core mechanics!

I would just like to say this has been an excellent course. Has got me back into Unity development again, I cannot put it down!. Previously focused on mobile games couple of years back but this has sparked a new interest and I am now trying to turn this into something great. (Its keeping busy for sure) I have even started to learn Blender to create my own models too. Easier than I thought for Low Poly.

The topics covered have been great. I have been developing software for over 20 years. Had a few aspects to resolve along the way. But has been a great journey of discovery and inspiration. This has given new insight into how things can be done well within Unity.

I have expanded this with some new actions: Reload, land mines and even different unit types with limited ammo and weapon types per unit. Have also implemented droppable and collectable items. (ammo/health etc)

I have expanded to support as many players as I want and choose Human or AI. Entertaining to watch AI vs AI. (This area needs a bit needs a bit more TLC).

I have also added a HUD to move to the selected unit. That was tricky to with CineMachine, but got there eventually.

Would be good to see

• Possible lowered and raised levels for grid system (e.g. basement / bunkers / stairs)
  • Fog of war
    -Many more I cannot think of right now…

The possibilities for this are endless.

Great work and well worth it. Cant wait to see/follow more from Code Monkey.

Looking forward to full integration of the Hex Grid now :smile:

That’s great to hear, those are great additions.

I’m curious, how did you implement the Item pickup? Did you do it on “touch” and automatically pick up when a character enters that grid position? Or using the Interact action?

I’m glad you’re enjoying the course! Thanks!

I have implemented a couple of ways.

1. Collider trigger on entering a grid square, so fairly simple approach, where collectables sit on a given layer mask