Weird behaviour when making cockpit

Hi! This is my first time posting here so hopefully it is appropriate. :slight_smile:

I’m trying to learn Blender with the character creation course and have some strange behaviour:

All I wanted to do was move the point along the line to the left (double click G), but instead it goes down and behaves strangely. I can move it left by doing G+X but then I get other unwanted behaviour. Also, when I try to move it, it looks like there is another vertex below it? Is there a nice way to see if there are vertices on top of each other? My guess is that when I was creating the extrusion just above the vertex, I must have accidentally made several others? I also tried to use the knife tool to create the kind of shape you can see in the reference image (which I just found on the internet).

The same problem happens in several places, not just here (so I will probably scratch and restart, but I want to make sure I don’t do it again…).

1 Like

With pressing gg you can only move the vertice along the connected (via edges) vertices.
If it behaves strangely, you probably have a route using different paths (edges).

Your first image show orange lines but not from the selected vertice.
Edges color starting from the selected vertice is orange and the further away it darker becomes.
So I think you have double vertices. Meaning vertices occupying the same location.
Which can happen often by user error.

You need to merge vertices by distance!

In edit mode, go into vertice selection mode, press a to select all vertices.
Right mouse click for context-sensitive menu. “Merge vertices” > “Merge by distance”.

Try to change the range from 0.0001 to 0.1 to find out how many and which vertice are merged.
If succeeded then, try the thing you want to do!

Vertices duplication happens a lot when extruding and aborting this process!