Very slow compile times even after fix

Even after the fix shown in lecture 51, I am having very slow compile times which surprises me because, yes although my computer specs aren’t great, they should be enough according to unreal documentation, here they are:

CPU Intel® Core™ i5-8300H CPU @ 2.30GHz (4 cores)
Graphics card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050
Ram: 8GB

My compile times are consistently around 5min+ even when I make tiny changes such as adding a “PrintLine”. Here fore example, it took me more than 5min

At this point I’m spending more time compiling my code to see if it works than actually learning code.
Buying a new computer is not an option for now, neither is changing the components of mine since I have a laptop and wouldn’t be able to change anything without destroying it probably, especially as I have no knowledge of how to manually build a computer. I’d also like to avoid buying an SSD, but anyway there must be more to it than that. I’m really surprised the Unreal engine should take so much time to compile, I’m sure other people on this course are running lower specs than me and can compile in reasonable times.

It is what it is. There will be compile times since it has to compile and those times will fluctuate as you work on the project.

Your CPU isn’t bad (but also far from great today) and code compilation is heavily dependent on that. My CPU will compile about 2x faster than yours and mine is getting older. There’s regular CPU’s now that should compile 6-7x faster than yours.

The only thing I will do at times for compilation is adjust cores for compilation if the default usage is lower than the amount of cores (eg on Linux make -jx (x being number of cores - this it not for you. Just an example of what I mean).