Using a single, repeated input (keypress) to "scroll" through text

Hi All!

This is my first question, so forgive my ignorance.

I am just beginning the Text101 game and using the space key as an input to continue. I want to be able to use the same space key repeatedly to have players scroll through various blocks of story before they get to various options for interaction with the environment (which would use specific key inputs like M, L, T, etc.). But when I press Space the first time, it just jumps down to the second block of text (Text 2) and skips the first block of text (Text 1).

I want to display a block of text, and have them press space. This would then display the next block of text, and prompt them again to press space to continue. How do I make it display one block at a time and use the same input repeatedly?

This is my code currently:

I have looked on the unity forums for awhile seeking a solution, but most of them are too complex for my level of understanding. I tried one code that included something about detecting if the button had been pressed before, and then if so, displaying the next block of text, but I could not get it to work and it used commands I was unfamiliar with. Plus, I want to use Space repeatedly through the whole story to continue when reading blocks of text.

Thanks for any help!

1. Assign different buttons for text 1 and text 2, since you have used space for two “if statements”, it might confuse the compiler which one to print first.

2)And in the second “if statement” it will again be if (Input.GetKeyDown).

Hi Detham,

How about putting the first block of text into it’s own state and just use a single exit option (SPACE) which leads to the second block of text? One advantage of this approach is you can give the second block of text a key to “Go back” and read the first block again if the player wants to.

Cheers,

Rich

Hey there, @dethham!