Unreal Google cardboard vr

Hello
I am new to unreal and using 5.1
Unable to find plugin Google vr (i guess it was available for V4)

Although there is a plugin costing $299 but i don’t have a budget to have that for hobby projects

I want to use Google cardboard viewer for vr

Can anyone help

2 Likes

Welcome to the community!

Then you can watch this tutorial to see how everything works

I would make sure you are confident that this will work, you have the unreal app, and everything seems good according to tutorials and such, however this IS possible and you will be able to do it with Google cardboard as it seems, also I would assume you build you games to your phone and then use the Google cardboard as normal.

Did this clear everything up?

While you can still work with google cardboard, google themselves discontinued support about 2 years ago. Given the requirements by Unreal and I remember how much it killed your device battery with Unity, I would say it is not really practical. You could get an older version of Unreal to do this and that will still work just fine however.

Note that the video is 7 years old so quite dated.

There is a plugin in the marketplace for UE5 but it costs about the same as a quest headset. If you are serious about VR development, forget cardboard and invest in a headset. You’d need a Quest 2 which is at the moment the cheapest way to get a real headset for VR but you also need a decent graphics card - a 1060 or equivalent for UE4 and I believe a 2070/3060 for UE5 (I have the 3060 Ti and it is perfect although I wish I could have gotten something more powerful)

1 Like

Hi
Your suggestion to get a vr headset is good but problem is when you want to mass deploy not all end users will be willing to invest in a vr headset
Google cardboard here helps a lot as the cost is mostly $15-$20 and uses your existing phone !!