Unreal Course Redux 2019

The remaster of the Unreal course is underway - yippie!

Ask general questions here, plus I’ll be updating this topic with the latest.

The first step is to re-work section 1, focusing on cross platform install of Unreal and VS Code. I’ll also be working to help you understand the ecosystem better than before.

3 Likes

Got VS Code working beautifully with Unreal engine. Nice and fast and cross-platform. I’m going to update the promotional video explaining the remaster as a first job, then I’ll start the install videos.

am total beginner i have take unreal course should i take remastery too… or finish this

VS Code on a Mac as well? :smiley:

Great looking forward to it!

I am in the same situation… :sweat_smile:

hhh@alejandro

Could you give us a small run-down of what you did to make VS Code run like that? I’m an experienced programmer and starting on the Unreal course right now, but I rather use VS Code right out of the gate instead of using Xcode (I’m currently on a Mac). I’ve never in the past had a good experience using VS Code with Unreal before, so some small pre-release indication of what are the steps you took would be very helpful.

1 Like

Hi everyone, if you have any question on Windows stuff, let me know, I’ll try to help!

EDIT: Moving original text to correct thread…

1 Like

Hi! Are we going to use VS 2019 for the remastered course?

Yes, it’s working great on all 3 platforms and exactly how to set it up will be shipping in the new Section 1 which ships on Friday

2 Likes

I think it might be cool to start each project off, maybe right before the GDD, by showing a working version of roughly what the final project will look like. Visually seeing what we’re building ahead of time, could help with starting to plan out where and how to make a few changes along the way to make the project “ours”, if that makes sense. And it might provide some encouragement to work through it.