Unity Turn Based Strategy Course - Overall Design Pattern

I’m about half way through the Turn Based Strategy course and I’m curious about the overall design pattern being used. My background is in control system design, so I’m used to a clear separation of tasks and services where decoupling and using interfaces is the name of the game.

With this course it seems like there’s a heavy leveraging of singletons and referencing anything from anywhere. For example, the UI buttons directly reference the UnitActionSystem rather than staying within the ActionSystemUI. Units also directly reference the LevelGrid singleton and bypass the UnitActionSystem for movement handling.

To me it feels like something like this would become hard to follow as it scales but for all I know it’s the way game development rolls. It is something I just have to buckle up and get used to? I saw that there’s a design patterns for game development course. Is the pros and cons of different strategies discussed there? I’m not trying to argue design patterns (like arguing religion, really), just looking for clarification.

I appreciate the work you all put in to the course.

3 Likes

It is and it isn’t.

Unity it basically a big component based system combined with a dependency injection system. Not everything works well in that kind of framework so you find a lot of what you do is working within those limitations. I like to say, you spend a lot of your time fighting with the inspector.

Inferfaces are a fickle thing with Unity. While they work, a lot of people feel they don’t necessarily work well with the inspector.

Yes and no. There are heaps of ways of doing everything. You can do it your own way. If you’re going to work solo, the only two things that matters is A). If it works and B) you can follow your own code.