Try My CYOQ - 6 Days (Day 0)

The story might be a bit rough as I am a extreme beginner in narrative design, but the point of this project for me was to extend it feature wise past what we cover in the course and make it have some extra game elements.

What I added to it:

• Health System

• You do not hit states that kill you in one shot, instead you take damage for the wrong choice
    • The health is represented by the hearts in the top right of the screen
    • There is not enough damage in the game to kill you (Only one damage event at the moment)
    • If you want to see what happens when you die, when you reach the thank you for playing screen, choose Damage Self (Something you should never do in real life)
  • Karma System

• Some actions will affect your karma score which starts at 0 at the beginning of each playthrough
    • If I created the full story this score would effect events, and then have 3 different endings based on whether you had a positive, negative, or 0 score
    • You can see your Karma score at the end of the game, you can only currently reach -1, 0, or 1 Karma and it has no impact currently on the games events
  • Music and SFX

• I added a track by JDB Artist, you should check him out for some good music assets.
    • I used a soundeffect from free sounds that will play whenever you take damage
  • Window Flair

• When you die the background image will turn red and reset whenever you start a new game or return to the start menu

If anyone out there is a writer and wants to work together you should message me sometime.

Also if you find something isn’t working please let me know!

Anyways, thanks for playing it if you did! I hope you found some sort of enjoyment out of it. :sweat_smile:

1 Like

Playtesting with my mother found 2 bugs which I have fixed. Sorry for the bugs, I have reuploaded the game, same link should work.

2 Likes