Thoughts and worries after questionnaire at end of Section 2

This is my first entry here, I’m not sure if I’m breaking the rules when not asking directly about code but rather having some thoughts after the questionnaire and what I’d learned so far.

So, about the questionnaire at the end of section 2.

The curly brackets { } were only briefly touched on as to their exact function. I felt like they were going to be explained more as we went on, and that I was gaining an understanding slowly, but as of the questionnaire had not understood them fully (even when rewatching).

The void keyword was barely mentioned at all so far and I definitely did not gain an understanding of it or when to use it. It doesn’t return something. What IS return? Return what, where? I’m completely new to programming and do not understand these terms.

In the question about taking in float and returning int the code was formated in a way that, again, felt just one step above what I’d done so far. A bit like learning addition and subtraction and having multiplication thrown into the quiz.

Overall it felt like the questionnaire asked questions one level (even if still at a beginners level) above the understanding I had after completing the Number Wizard game.

Up until now I thought I was going at a beginners pace and doing well since I was keeping up, could experiment a little in the code, when suddenly this curve ball comes along and says I should understand these things at the end of section 2 when I do not.

Now I’m wondering if, when continuing, I’m just a dummy and this is obvious to everyone else?

1 Like

Hi @Tomas_Andersson, as it’s your first post I would like to welcome you to the community and also assure you that you are not breaking any rules - if you have questions, please do ask :slight_smile:

Responding to each of your points in turn;