The organization of my code

I’m currently on Lecture 27, and everything is going great. Until I started to wonder, how the heck my code is working. I feel like it’s out of order, and I’m not sure why it plays the way it does.

My cpp code.

This is my first time using Gist and I didn’t copy over my header or another .cpp I have so it probably doesn’t work, but I’m mostly confused just by the order in which the code is set up, but why it still plays out in the correct order.

So at this point, I start up the program.
It welcomes with the intro.
It asks for your guess.
It repeats back your guess.

And it is specifically here I get confused, because the order in my code is showing PlayGame with the output for "Your guess was: " as being immediately after the intro, but instead the string GetGuess outputs.

To clarify, it LOOKS to me as if the game should:
Welcome with the intro
"Your guess was: "
Ask for your guess

But it works as it’s supposed to, which is why I am so confused.

I’ve pretty much been following along and trying to internalize as much as I can remember, but when I took a second look, I’ve simply gone and confused myself. Figured it’d be better to figure it out now though, haha.

Thank you!

On that line 49, you can see it has the GetGuess() at the end. That’s telling the code at that point to ignore whatever else is next, and go off and do whatever GetGuess() does.

Even though the functions are ordered the way you say it should work, by referencing/calling them at that point, it interrupts what’s happening to perform the function.

I think I understand. So when we get to the line

std::string Guess = GetGuess();

You’re basically telling it “In order to get Guess, go do GetGuess()”?

Thanks a lot for the help, I really appreciate it.

That’s exactly right :smiley:

If for example, you put PrintIntro(); on the line after that, it would go off and print out your introduction again, before resuming with showing the guess value.