Struggling with C# in Unity, any advice?

When I started the Unity course I had no experience with any sort of programming. The most I’d ever done was tweak .ini files for games and messed with existing HTML code a bit, mainly I just broke things.

Rather shortly into the course I realized that I was probably going to need to learn the very basics of C# so I paused the Unity course and did Bob Tabors C# for Absolute Beginners and that helped me at least grasp what Ben and Brice were showing. But I’m still struggling a little too often and right now I’ve hit a wall, it’s starting to to make me doubt if I’m ever going to understand how to program.

Currently I’m stuck on lecture 212 in Bowling Master, which has us finishing a script using TDD to keep score of the game. TDD by itself is quit the thing to wrap your head around but that on top of the challenge to finish the script using TDD has me lost. I just don’t understand where and how to use somethings, take an array for example, I understand what an array is and the basics of how one works but I’m limited in the ways I know how to use it.

I’m currently debating on if I should have a read through a C# book(C# Yellow Book) or press on and watch the video and then try it afterwards. I’m not giving up on this but I feel like at this point in the course I should probably be able to float instead of drowning all the time.

Did anyone else ever hit a wall like this? What did you do to get over it? If you’ve got any advice I’d love to hear it, if I manage to get past this I’m sure it will be the first of many walls.

1 Like

Hang in there @Hellsrage

Six months ago I was in your exact position. I had no prior experience with code or game/app development. I was working in agriculture! This was a whole new world to me.