Single Job Classes

Purely for conversation (as I appreciate this course is pitched between Beginner and Intermediate), is it better practice to separate out economy management and UI updating?

In this case, I mean a class that sits on the UI object and handles setting the UI text, alongside the economy manager which keeps a track of the gold. When I was a decent level beginner, my UI then checked the economy manager every update for the currentGold value and set the text appropriately. Now that I’m a learning Intermediate, I’m using a delegate Action to tell the UI that the gold value is changed.

No functional difference from the course, of course, but makes the classes more complicated to set up (for me anyway) but easier to read later.

PS - Does Ben know you use the word “Manager”. It seems the sort of thing that would make him grumpy (er).

:smile:

2 Likes

I too am a fan of using a seperate class to Update the UI and using delegates to determine when they should be updated. I found it has really saved me when changing scenes or spawning players dynamically and the UI maintains functionality without having to change anything.
In the scope of the course the economy manager is pretty small, so no real harm done there.

I was thinking recently about using the word “manager” in my class names. I often use the word manager or controller and realized this might not be the best practice. However, I think if you use a word consistently within the program and have a concrete idea of it’s meaning it’s okay. It’s a noun, which is good for class naming and if all the manager’s do the same thing, I think it makes sense. Being consistent with your naming so you can go back later and understand what everything means is probably the most important thing with naming your classes.

3 Likes