Settings inside blend file

As Michael demonstrates in this lecture, the settings of the tool used to edit 3d models, the Blender IDE, are saved inside the .blend file itself.

Am I alone in thinking this seems a messy design decision? I would expect data relating to the thing being modeled being inside the .blend file and data determining the layout of an IDE being in it’s own setting file.

Leaving aside spreadsheets containing macros, if you open a spreadsheet in Excel, you don’t expect it rearrange the user interface all over the place.

Anyone want to tell me why I’m wrong?

I’ve no experience of other 3D suites and would be interested to hear if other software mixes the two types of data together like this.

1 Like

This is because of the many Blender functions.
Not everybody is busy with mesh modeling. Some people are busy with UV-Mapping the whole day.
Or his job is to do the lighting. Other members of the team will build procedural texturing.

So at start-up you can have your own Blender working environment. You can see a reflection of this process also in the Blender TABS ‘Layout’, ‘Modeling’, ‘Sculpting’ … It’s based on 3D design processes.
Also Blender wants to be an interesting alternative for 3D professionals, using Maya, Pixar, etc.
These people are used to a different UI. So If you can tweak your basic start up to be the one, you are using in other packages it’s a big win. Like keyboard shortcuts, or GIZMO’s>
If you understand the interface of an other software package, it’s easier to switch over.

You compare it with Excel, but it’s for a fair compare. In fact Excel is the world leading standard. There are no competitors (except for half baked copies). Blender is in a market with other (professional) competitors. Blender is free, while others cost you about 3000,- dollars per year.