Seeking Guidance for the Next Steps in Game Development

Hello,

I am a graduate of computer science last year, and during my time at university, I had started developing small game projects. However, due to various problems, I was unable to focus on software development for about 1.5 years. Now, for the past 6 months, I have been working on game development again. I am volunteering at a company and also own the Complete C# Unity Game Developer 2D and Complete C# Unity Game Developer 3D courses from the Game Dev team. I have completed the 2D course and am now working on the 3D course, which is almost finished.

However, I am unsure of what my next step should be. Unfortunately, I don’t have many people around who can mentor me or give me advice. In your opinion, what should I do next? Additionally, are there any courses you would recommend that I could take for the next stage in game development?

Thank you!

1 Like

I can’t offer much in the way of Unity guidance, but I’m going to recommend you check out our Discord server for this sort of guidance. You’ll find a wide spectrum of people there, so if you ask in the appropriate channels on the server, I would expect you’ll get a variety of useful responses from different perspectives. There’s a link at the bottom of the course site, under the Community heading:
https://www.gamedev.tv/

2 Likes

Before taking any step further, I highly suggest you decide where you want to go, and if you don’t know that, then take your time to experiment, Would you like to be a solo dev? Work at a triple A studio? Small indie studio? Freelance work? Why not try all?

A lot of people might tell you that trying all is a waste of time, but sometimes you need to experience things first hand, in my case, it took me 2 years to realize I didn’t like working at a studio, so I’m about to leave and go full solo because that’s how I actually enjoy making games.