Rotating and scaling means permanent non-flat faces?

It’s weird, since I’ve tried to be very safe with how I’ve been doing it, basically copying Lecturer’s moves (who does both scaling and rotating) and still can’t understand how to make faces even everywhere (and I’ve watched non-planar lecture for several times now).

I know that it is supposed to take me some time to figure this out, but I cant figure out how to rotate/scale and not have my faces all distorted.

Would like to get some sort of help on this one…

So, here’s what I have to say on this topic. I, too, did a lot of research on this and I found some info. I did this because I had to RE-DO my knight from scratch. It was a huge pain. I’m still new to this, too, after all. I hope the below information is useful to you.

First, you may want to go to preferences and head over to add-ons. Then do a search for the F2 plugin (community). Get it. It’ll help.

Secondly, deformed geometry is very OK. The only time it is NOT OK is if you render your knight and it has lines because of deformities. There is just NO way to fix this. 3D printers may not like it. Game engines don’t care. The reason is that the computer likes to do stuff in triangles, and it is rendered as such. I actually had to butcher my knight and re-do many faces with triangles and subdivisions of edges in order to add the geometry to keep things planar. I eventually got it to the point where, while “deformed,” it still renders without any extra lines. This is where you want to be with your knight. The reason that this happens in the first place is that the moment you move a vertex out of line with the others, it ends up being processed. It’s just that all normals want to be planar when rendered. You can avoid this by always working in normal orientation, but you’ll be severely limited and you’ll deform your figure heavily. Even the monkey (default mesh) has a lot of non-conformities.