Public void LoadLevel(string name)

Helloo everyone!
I cant understand how the( string name) works…
i know how the strings are working, but i cant understand the (name)

thank you.

2 Likes

“name” is the name of your scene. The scene that you want to load.

4 Likes

Hi Anthony, thank you for the reply! :grin:
But is it always like this?
I didn’t declare is as a variable or something…
Im sorry… Noob here, trying to have a solid foundation :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

By now, you’ve seen plenty of methods where you need parenthesis () to indicate a method call. For example, you might have something like Start() or Update().

Let’s say we make a method that picks up an item. Several things need to happen – an animation needs to play, a sound effect occurs, your inventory needs to be adjusted, and an item has to disappear off the ground. Because all this stuff needs to happen every time we pickup an item, it makes sense to have a method for this. That way we can just call the pickup item method every time we get near it, or when we open a chest, or at various other points in the game. Because so many things can cause the PickupItem() method to occur, we need to make it public.

We don’t want to make a separate method for every type of item we may pickup, “pickupApples”, “pickupBerries”, etc. So in addition to calling the method at a certain time, we also want to pass along some information related to the current situation. Let’s say, for purposes of this example, we want to pass along a string. We put this string in the parenthesis of the method call. For example, pickup(“Apple”) or pickup(“Berries”). It an actual game situation, this might be a reference to another object somewhere in the world such as pickup(collision.gameObject.name). In this case, you’re passing along the name of whatever object the player has run into. (When information is passed along in this way, it’s called an argument. I don’t know why.)