Problems with fixed update and update

So i just had a problem with my jumping that i figured out because i had code with my input and physicis change in the same update when i needed to have my input on update and my rigid body changes in fixed update but now i have a problem where my movement is choppy because the same mistake with my jumping. so i just need to call my inputs in update and then make the changes to rigid body in fixed update, easy right? wrong im still a noob and dont understand how to do this through code. here is my code so far and my thought process.
My problematic code is this

void FixedUpdate()
    {
        float horizontalInput = Input.GetAxis("Horizontal");
        float verticalInput = Input.GetAxis("Vertical");

Vector3 movement = new Vector3(horizontalInput, 0, verticalInput);
        Vector3 velocity = movement * playerspd;

rb.AddForce(velocity * Time.fixedDeltaTime);
}

so i need to have my Verticle and Horizontal input in my update and then check if im pressing down an input button and move my rigid body through fixed update just like with jumping.
Here is what ive done so far
iv made a public bool called [public bool isMoving = false;
i then go into my update and type

if (Input.GetAxis("Horizontal") != 0 || Input.GetAxis("Vertical") != 0)
        {

isMoving = true;
        } else
        {
            isMoving = false;
        }

Then i go into my fixed update and check if is moving is true [if(ismoving == true]
and put the rest of my code in but the problem is that my Vector3 variables Need my Input variable but they arent in the same brackets so they dont recognize eachother. for example if i type

if (Input.GetAxis("Horizontal") != 0 || Input.GetAxis("Vertical") != 0)
        {
            float horizontalInput = Input.GetAxis("Horizontal");
            float verticalInput = Input.GetAxis("Vertical");
            isMoving = true;
        } else
        {
            isMoving = false;
        }

and then do