Portfolio - Advice

Hey all,

So I’m looking at the course “How To Get A Job In The Video Game Industry Online Course” and it’s really making me question my portfolio, which I have recently created in Unity.

I’m a game developer looking to get another job within the game industry.

My portfolio is: https://iamsamtc.com

TL;DR

So my question is… Would it be better to have a website rather than a game as a portfolio?

Most importantly, thank you for your time and effort responding.

More Detail

So a little context as my portfolio is a little different than most.

I vaguely remember seeing a portfolio which was a game X amount of years ago, and I thought that would be great to re-create as I could both show off my Unity skills and share my projects, I thought this also would be a great way to stick in the employers mind because the portfolio is different, most have a website.

However recently I’ve applied for a fair amount of jobs, and not heard back, though this could be because of the irrelevant projects on my portfolio (which I will be removing and replacing with games that I have created and released, as of recent times), experience and a variable amount of other aspects , I’m starting to think that it’s because employers just don’t have the time to sit and ‘play’ my portfolio game to find out more about me… which to be honest, is really sad, and I hope that they get more time in the future, but that’s another discussion.

I wonder instead of doing a game for a portfolio, whether I should go back to creating a website which lists all games, a summary of me etc. though I find this concept boring and very similar to all the other portfolio websites out there.

So my question is… Would it be better to have a website rather than a game as a portfolio?