Paint by Number

I see that the number of options to do anything you want in Unreal is overwhelming as opposed to Unity. Example: Adjusting the lighting in the scene with over 100 different variables and different actors… I don’t know of another way of teaching Unreal than the instructor saying do this… now do that. It’s like paint by the numbers. I have taken 5 other Unreal tutorials and it is taught the same way. After the tutorials I have little more knowledge about what to do than when I started. I often ask myself, “How do you know you’re supposed to do this or that to accomplish something? How do you know what to search for?” I’m not sure if I can really learn how to do whatever I want in Unreal with such a limited amount of exposure to the vast number of variables and ways to do things. I am an intermediate developer in Unity and most of what I’ve learned, other than the tutorials, I’ve had to learn by trial and error, hunt and peck, and finding answers on YouTube or the forums. In both Unreal and Unity, it is not intuitive to figure out what to do as opposed to, let’s say, Game Guru. I made a comment to one of the instructors in Unity that you have to be an expert in nearly everything in Unity, including its quirks, to develop a good game. She agreed with me. I guess that expertise only comes from thousands of hours of exasperating trial and error and experience, finding what works and studying other people’s examples. Unity documentation doesn’t hardly help at all. The documentation assumes that you know how everything works already which almost makes it superfluous. I don’t know about Unreal documentation since I haven’t used it yet. I will plough on in this course and hopefully will learn a lot. Thank you for instructing me. Your labors are very much appreciated.

1 Like

Hi Mark,