"Oh, I forgot that I needed to do this"

Hi everyone,
I’m putting this post here, because this is where the above happened.

When given a challenge, I am expecting to complete it with the information that I was given as well as utilize this discussion forum to solve it.

As I am just starting out on my coding journey, I realized very quickly that asking for help is very much encouraged in order to stimulate camaraderie and is practically expected. While I am very much a social butterfly, I approach all of my challenges with the process of :

1. Solve utilizing what I have learned so far
  2. Ask for help (i.e. google, forums, etc.)

So far, this process has really helped me to retain a lot of what I have learned because I’m actually going through my code to determine if my thinking is correct and it is validated when the code compiles. It’s not unusual for me to spend over an hour of trying to solve a challenge, so that I can think of different ways to solve something and see if it works.

Unfortunately, this process does not work if the code that I have is missing something.

Minute: 7:38

The above picture was initially my first guess in what was needed, but because it was missing from the FString, I thought I was wrong.

Now, I understand that I could have tried putting “Guess” next to the FString so see if it would work, however why would I question that my instructor’s coding was wrong/incomplete? More importantly, how would I know that I needed to put it exactly there without asking someone first?

If this was the intent of the challenge, it probably would have been good to mention.

I do understand that this is more of a rant than anything productive, but I feel that this will become a huge issue for me to continue this course if I’m expected to get help in order to correct my instructors work.

Thank you.