NullReferenceExceptions, Singletons and Delegates

I am new to Unity and need help understanding this topic. I have read responses and it still seems difficult to grasp. Any help really dumbing this down for me would be really appreciated.

Tim

Hi Tim,

Could you be more specific with regards to what you are not sure about, for example, is it a NullReferenceException that you are uncertain of?

Yes I am uncertain of the NullReferenceException and how to instantiate a variable so this error does not get displayed in Unity. Also I just looked up two different articles pertaining to singletons, events and delegates. I did not understand what Galandil was saying when refering to the delegate must be assigned in the else code of the awake function. (Did not understand what a delegate is). Also sad to admit I am this far but what is the difference between having a variable set to Null vs false?

Hi Tim,

Ok, I’m going to move your reply here to a new topic I think as there is quite a bit to cover but we can reference back to the above responses if we need to. Give me a few minutes.

Updated Thu Dec 14 2017 18:23

Clean palette so to speak @TimB :slight_smile:

If perhaps we work through each of the items you want to understand a little better and only move on to the next when you’re ready etc, I think that will help keep the content of the topic easier to read.

Let’s start with the NullReferenceException;

A NullReferenceException exception is thrown when you try to access a member on a type whose value is null.

Let’s break that down a bit. An exception is a representation of an error that occurs at runtime. The NullReferenceException is a type of exception, specifically, relating to Null Reference.

A member refers to the data or behaviour of a class. Data would be represented as fields and properties, where-as behaviour is typically represented by methods. As an example;

public class HelloWord : MonoBehavour
{
    public void SayHello()
    {